Muston is a delightful village situated about two miles South -West of Filey, with a 'Conservation area' and numerous listed buildings. This sleepy picturesque village is lined with country cottages, beautiful gardens and a quaint community church. Most of the houses date from the 18th and 19th Centuries, variously built of local brick and chalk, and of stone brought from the area north of Filey. One of the oldest cottages was built in 1724. There used to be two inns but the Cross Keys, built in 1755 ceased to trade in the 1960's and is now a private residence, whereas The Ship continues as the village pub.
The Church of All Saints was rebuilt in Early English style in 1863 on the site of an earlier church. There is a small 2-bell turret at the western end of the building. Muston Hall, built in the early 19th Century stands well back from the road in the centre of the village and has dine gardens surrounding it.
Although tranquil for the rest of the year this village is flocked to annually for it's famous scarecrow festival in which residents display their home-made scarecrows to the delight of visitors.
Filey, North Yorkshire, YO14 0EY
Map reference: TA 096796 Lat: 54.20045 Long: -0.32136
Nearest station : 2 miles (3.2 kms) from Filey station